
Home –> Computers –> Virus Hoaxes & Realities –> Snopes Funded By Adware
Money Over Integrity
Claim: Snopes serves popup ads from Value Click Media (FastClick) which encourage visitors to install adware from Zango (The Axis Of Evil).
Status: True.
Example: [Collected on the Interwebs, 2008]
I am a big fan of Snopes, and use the service routinely when getting some typical hysterical email from a friend.
But for a long time now (probably at least a year), I’ve noticed that they are in bed with Fastclick, which in turn constantly serves one annoying ad on Snopes:

That ad, “Do you want to block Junk Emails?” is for a Zango product — adware (VirusTotal report here). And by running this ad, Snopes, which is highly reputable, is providing an implied endorsement of the product.
I contacted Snopes about six months ago to complain, but they ignored my message.
- Alex Eckelberry
|
I responded to Alex’s blog entry about this with the following:
Ouch. I’ve sent plenty of people their way over the years. This stinks the same as weight loss, penis enlargement, and other nonsense being allowed to make ad buys from Discovery, History Channel, etc.
“We are known to deal with facts and provide the best information possible.”
“Here’s a bunch of money. Let’s exploit that trust you’ve built up.”
“Hells yeah.”
Seriously:

What really pisses me off is that I know FastClick has category options for their publishers. And, I’d bet PaperGhost’s underoos that a site producing as many impressions as Snopes can get them to filter ads from their rotation. Bottom line: they aren’t idiots and are intentionally serving such ads on their site. It’s obviously all about the big bling bling for them.
Might as well find a similar site, with ethics:
Urban Legends (minus Snopes)
If you want to send Snopes a message about this mess, here’s their contact page.
Update:
You probably shouldn’t even bother contacting them. Here’s a thread on their own forum with members bitching about such practices from September of 2005. I saved a copy of that just in case they delete it ;-)
The not-so-cute image to your left has been spammed all over MySpace via comments for months now. It’s generally posted from legit accounts that have been phished. And, it’s hyperlinked to a php file that prompts a person to download a payload of evilness when clicked. My buddy PaperGhost has dissected this toad three times now. Why three times? Asshats like to change up the payloads of poo they’re spreading from time to time. Zango and all sorts of other craptastic (technical term for “Evil Evil Bad Bad”) stuff has been bundled in this download every time. As an added bonus, it has a neat little thing built into it to phish your MySpace account info so it can spam itself from your account.
Bottom line: When you see it, you should “Run, Forrest! Runnnn!”.
PaperGhost’s latest dissection:
ProfileWatcher: The Saga Continues
Random tidbit:
The Department of Defense started blocking access to a ton of social networking sites and whatnot. So, our boys and girls over in that dreaded sandbox can no longer visit MySpace, YouTube, etc… They claim that this is being done due to bandwidth (money) and network security issues. That’s obviously a big load of BS. Sean from SocialHam.com summed it up pretty well.
Safe guards are important to protect our troops however its pretty clear they are also concerned about stopping the next Abu Grab picture/video leak
~ SocialHam.com
Protect our troops? Yeah, that’s the big one in my eyes. The DoD would have been shunned as assholes if they stated the obvious though… Yes, it’s inevitable that one of our troops would have pulled a retarded Geraldo Rivera move on YouTube or elsewhere.
“Hey Mom, we’re going raid that little village over there tomorrow. Wish me luck!!!1″
I told you so:
Really, I did. From a recent post of mine on MySpace:
Will there still be spam on here?
Yup. You can expect a lot more spam profiles and messages with the whole “You’re Cute!!! My MSN and AIM name is WebCamDoubleDD, hit me up sum time”. So, you can all have more hot sex talk with bots about monkeys.
Read more…
About a week back my buddy Paul Wood from MessageLabs received a friend request from “some lovely lady – ahem” on MySpace. If you’re a regular over at the trailer park of the interweb, you’re more than use to getting bogus friend requests from fake profiles being used to market some nonsense, phish your password, or get the ball rolling on yet another worm. Paul’s new sweetheart was no exception.
The hustle in question was / is just a copycat version of the old “MySpace Content Viewer“. Not a bad hustle to copy since I’m sure it was / is insanely effective at getting eRetards to download a payload of nastiness. When you completely rip off the idea of another dip-shit you’re suppose to do one of two things though…
Read more…
Yesterday, a metric ton of MySpace accounts were infected with yet another worm. As I predicted ten days ago, it was accomplished via a QuickTime embed. Visiting the profile of anyone infected would cause the navigation links across the top of your profile (Home | Browse | Search | Invite | etc…) to be replaced by fake navigation links which all linked to a spoof MySpace login page via some basic CSS and HTML added to your “About Me” section. And, the QuickTime embed was added to one of your “Interests” sections to further propagate this worm / phishing attack. At a glance, this looked like nothing more than that: a worm being used to phish MySpace passwords.
Read more…